Kindlelife

Insight, Inspiration, Motivation

My Little One


This week, I have been extremely busy, with my new Electronic Medical Records, trying to get the system going, after a delay of many months. So, when I finally did get to read something, and chanced upon this little poem below, I was hit with an emotion so raw, I couldn’t even breathe!

 This is a Yiddish song, sung by a father to his sleeping son. It was written by Morris Rosenfeld in 1897 entitled “Mayn Yingele” and was about the harsh conditions faced by Jewish immigrants in a sweatshop, particularly this father’s estrangement from his family due to the long working hours. A hundred and fourteeen years later, every word still rings true!

I have a son, a little son,
A boy completely fine.
When I see him it seems to me
That all the world is mine.
But seldom, seldom do I see
My child awake and bright;
I only see him when he sleeps;
I’m only home at night.
It’s early when I leave for work;
When I return it’s late.
Unknown to me is my own flesh,
Unknown is my child’s face.
When I come home so wearily
In the darkness after day,
My pale wife exclaims to me:
“You should have seen our child play.”
I stand beside his little bed,
I look and try to hear.
In his dream he moves his lips:
“Why isn’t Papa here?”

In the last few years, I have consciously tried to make time for my family and for myself, taking time off every year religiously. However, every so often, a project like this EMR program comes up that demands more from me and throws me off the track. I can’t wait to finish, so I can get back on track again.

Thankfully, I’m done for the week. For this weekend, I am all theirs, for the most part, anyway. Come Sunday night, it will be back to the computer again!

May 7, 2011 - Posted by | Personal Journey, Psychology, Self Improvement

3 Comments »

  1. […] My Little One (kindlelife.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    Pingback by Seldom « Black Rose | May 7, 2011 | Reply

  2. This is just one side. Many times the parents are so engrossed in bringing up the children and responsive to their needs that the relationship between the parents never get a chance to develop; happens a lot with Indian families; Indian children in the West are too spoilt !!

    Like

    Comment by rad nair | May 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Hmm. I guess the point is that we need to make time for all the important relationships – not just the children. Get all our priorities right, and get a good balance in our lives. Too much attention to any one area, and another will automatically suffer.
      Thanks for your comments.

      Like

      Comment by kindlelife | May 15, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

