Kindlelife

Insight, Inspiration, Motivation

Goal Setting


I started off the new year like everybody else.  There were things I needed to do better this year. From prior experience, I knew that just having goals was not good enough. I knew exactly what I needed to do.   Make a plan. Make a plan to plan. Make a plan to review the plan.  Review everyday. Review the week’s activities. Review and revise or modify plans and strategies every 3 months and finally at the end of the year. Put it all down on the calendar. So far, so good.

Now, for the next step. For each goal, what is the one small action I can take each day, that would help me reach my goal, by the end of the year? I had one down for each goal. I had one physical, mental, emotional,and  spiritual  goal and one for my career. Even that I made simple. Exercise, read/write, spend time with kids, meditate, and complete my paperwork on time. For each one of these, I only asked of myself a committment of 10 minutes.  That seemed like an attainable goal.

Well, at the end of one week, here’s what I have accomplished. I set the alarm to wake me up at 7 am. I am still on my holidays and I really don’t need to wake up until noon if I don’t need to. God knows I need the sleep. But I have drawn on all the mental toughness I could, and got out of bed every morning. I have done my 10 minutes and sometimes more of exercise and meditation everyday. I did not write or read a single word some days, and have been stressed out with having to complete everything that I want to achieve that I haven’t really been much company for the kids at all. I did get caught up with the paper-work, although I don’t know how long I can sustain that once I start back at work.

I certainly did no daily reviewing at all – formally, that is. In my mind, I did all the time. I still think I will do it once a week.

What have I learnt? It is important to have a plan, an ultimate goal. It is more important to have an immediate action to take, a small step towards the goal. It is imperative, that  small seemingly harmless temptations be fought – viciously, for they are the ones, that can ruin every good intention.

Sow an act – and you reap a habit. It is important to focus on developing habits that will lead to success in the long run. It is said that it takes 30 days for a new action, if repeated daily, to become a habit. If this is true, then goals should really be set for 2 or 3 month periods, not every new year! This way, one can form one new habit towards a goal each month, and start to see real changes within two or three months.

This reminds me how my grand mother used to consider the first day of every month sacred. Maybe there was a point to that after all!

January 7, 2011 - Posted by | Personal Journey, Self Improvement, Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

